do skittles have pork in them

Do Skittles have pork in them?

Skittles is a widely eaten and loved candy brand that has dominated the United States and the United Kingdom’s markets.

With its increasing popularity amongst people of diverse religions and practices, one is left to ask “is there pork products in Skittles?”

Well, let’s find out.

Skittles do not contain gelatins in them. And as such, they do not contain pork or any vegan-prohibiting products.

What Are Skittles Made Up Of?

skittles made of

An in-depth look would have to be given to each product or ingredient used in the making of skittles.

This would help us get a better understanding of whether Skittles candy contains pork in them or not.

According to the manufacturers of skittles, the Wrigley company, Skittles contain the following ingredients:

  1. Corn Starch
  2. Corn Syrup
  3. Sugar
  4. Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil
  5. Tapioca Dextrin
  6. Citric Acid
  7. Artificial and Natural Flavoring
  8. Carnauba Wax
  9. Artificial Coloring
  10. Sodium Citrate

We would be taking a  deeper look into each ingredient listed above.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Is Cream of Tartar Halal? Complete Guide!

This will enable us to tell if Skittles contain pork in them or not.

Note: The Wrigley Company, Manufacturers of Skittles are owned by Mars Incorporated.

Corn Starch 

a cornstarch

The gummy feel that is gotten from each bite of skittles is attributed to the corn starch used to produce it.

Skittles contain a modified Corn Starch which is made from Corn. And it acts as a gelling and emulsifying ingredient.

Corn Syrup

 It is also known as Glucose Syrup. It is a special type of syrup made from corn or rather, maize starch and it has a variety of uses.

Some of these includes:

  • It is used in the softening of skittles.
  • It helps to improve the taste, providing a sweet feel.
  • It helps to prevent the sugar found in skittles from crystallizing.
  • It is used in increasing the volume or size of each skittles candy.


a sugar

To get the yummy taste that skittles provide, sugar has to be used. Sugar is an essential ingredient for most candies. 

⚡ You May Also Like:  Are Jet Puffed Marshmallows Halal? All You Need to Know

The sugar found in Skittles is originally made from sugar cane stalks. 

These stalks are further processed into tiny white granules and are being used in candies to make them taste better.

Hydrogenated Palm Kernel Oil

For those who do not know, the Palm kernel is a plant called the Elaeis guineensis or oil palm.

As the name states, it produces oil that is extracted and used in making sweets.

Some of the uses of the Palm kernel oil in the Skittles candy include:

  • Used as a texture or size enhancer.
  • Used to add flavor to the Skittles candy.

Tapioca Dextrin

Tapioca Dextrin is a form of starch that can be gotten from the roots of Cassava or the Yucca Plant. 

It has two main uses which are:

  • It is quite sticky and can be used in the production of Skittles as a sticky coating.
  • It can also be used in retaining the color and flavor of each Skittles candy.
⚡ You May Also Like:  Is Tyson Chicken Halal? - A Complete Guide!

Citric Acid

a citric acid

This type of food acid is found in most citrus fruits like oranges and lemons.

It is used in Skittles for the following:

  • To help boost the acidity of the Skittles candy.
  • Used as a preservative or a preservation component.
  • Used in improving the flavor of each Skittles candy.

Artificial And Natural Flavoring

The exact flavor sources being used by skittles have not been revealed yet.

But we can assume that the flavor used for fruit-based candy is either made artificially or from natural fruits. 

Carnauba Wax

The leaves of the Copernicia prunifera or Carnauba Tree are where the Carnauba wax is gotten from.

It is used in skittles for two main purposes:

  • It gives the skittles candy its shiny look.
  • It is used as a coat protector in most sweets to keep from melting.

Artificial Coloring

artificial food color

The Wrigley company uses a wide variety of colors in the production of Skittles candies.

These colors are made from raw materials derived from petroleum. But don’t be alarmed, they are indeed edible.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Does Jello Have Pork In It? - Things You Must Know!

Some of the artificial colorings used are:

  • Red 40
  • Yellow 5
  • Yellow 6
  • Blue 1
  • Blue 2 

Sodium Citrate

This is the salt that is gotten from Citric acid. It is used in Skittles for two purposes, which are:

  • It gives the Skittle candy its tart flavor
  • It is used in skittles as a preservative component.
Tip: To get a better understanding of the ingredients used in Skittles, it is recommended that you speak to a customer care agent at the Wrigley Company.

Is Gelatin Being Used In Skittles Production?

gelatin being used

At some point, The Wrigley company admitted to using gelatin in the production of Skittles.

However, due to complaints from numerous vegan customers in 2010, Wrigley Company stopped its use of Gelatin.

Gelatin is a gummy ingredient that is used by most candy companies.

It is originally colorless and tasteless but is the main ingredient used in the production of Jello.

The Colorless and tasteless ingredient can be gotten from boiling the bones, tendons, skin, and ligaments of animals, majorly cows and pigs.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Is Krispy Krunchy Chicken Halal? - Eat The Muslim Way

Since 2010, they stopped the use of Gelatin.

Ever since there have been no reports or complaints leading to the proof that gelatin is being used in modern-day Skittles.

Note: The Wrigley company which is owned by Mars Incorporated is the Producer of the very popular Cheetos Snack.

So, Do Skittles Have Pork In Them? 

skittles have pork

An in-depth look at the ingredients used in the making of Skittles shows that they are free from pork meat or any pork-related products.

Now that we have done justice to the question: “does Skittles have pork in it?”.

Does that make the sweet flavored candy good for you?

Well, No!

There is an insanely high amount of sugar found in each Skittles candy. 

To put a number to it, each Skittles pack contains approximately 21 grams of refined sugar.

This is quite large, considering that the American Health Association (AHA), recommends you limit your daily sugar intake to 24 grams.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Are Flamin Hot Cheetos Halal? Let’s Find Out!

Corn Syrup, although edible, is considered an unhealthy food additive.

And it can lead to the rise of heart diseases if taken in large quantities.

Are Skittles Halal?

skittles halal

The Islamic community has a few rules laid down on what is considered safe for consumption and what is not, as directed by the Quran.

A few of the food items prohibited by the Quran include the following:

  • Meat from Pigs, Insects, Amphibians, Reptiles
  • Alcohol and other Intoxicants
  • Shellfishes like lobsters, scallops, shrimps
  • By-products from Pigs, Insects, and other non-certified animals.

With the research done above, it is safe to say, that Skittles is considered Halal.

And is, therefore, safe to be eaten by devout Muslims and Islamists.

Tip: It is recommended that you read the ingredients written on each skittle pack to get an understanding of whether it is halal or not.

Can Skittles Be Eaten By Vegans?

can vegan eat skittles

The short answer is yes.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Is Perdue Chicken Halal? Informative Guide

This is because, even though skittles contain gelatin, an ingredient obtained from pig and cow products, the practice stopped in 2015.

Modern-day Skittles is 100% vegan friendly. They contain no animal products or animal by-products.

Therefore it is safe to be eaten by vegans and Vegetarians.

What Candy Products Should Be Avoided By Vegans?

For Vegans, some candy types should be avoided as they do contain gelatin or other animal-related by-products, a few of these are;

  • Corn on the Cob (They contain gelatin)
  • Gummy Bears (They Contain gelatin)
  • Gummy Worms(They contain gelatin)
  • Red Colored Candies (Made from dried beetles)

Read Next: How Long Does Chocolate Candy Last?


Hopefully, the information has done justice to the very popular question: do Skittles have pork in them?

Regardless, as a vegan, it is advised that you do thorough research on each product before purchasing them.

With that being said, I highly recommend you check out other articles on our website as you might learn something new.

For now, drink a lot of water, eat healthily and be good.