is whole wheat pasta vegan

Are you a vegan and wondering is whole wheat pasta vegan? If so, read until the end to know the answer.

Eating a vegan diet has many restrictions. Often, even vegans are not aware of whether staple foods such as whole wheat pasta are considered vegan or not.

The number of vegans is growing worldwide. In 2021, approximately 79 million people were estimated to be vegan.

If you are hosting a dinner party or are new to being vegan, you might be wondering which of your favorite foods are vegan-safe.

Knowing which food items are vegan can ensure that you or your guests do not accidentally eat something not considered vegan.

This may have inevitably led you to ask, is whole wheat pasta vegan? 

The answer is yes. Whole wheat pasta is vegan as long as it is not made with eggs or dairy.

What Is a Vegan Diet?

what is vegan diet

A vegan diet avoids the consumption of any animal-derived ingredients.

Another common term for a vegan diet is a plant-based diet. For some vegans, this term is not only a dietary restriction but also related to the products that they consume.

⚡ You May Also Like:  On the Shelves for Ages: How Long is Uncooked Pasta Good For?

Companies such as makeup brands and pharmaceuticals harm animals as they use them as subjects to be tested on with their products.

Others, such as leather or wool clothing brands, kill or harm animals to make their products.

Because of these reasons alone, some will avoid any product that harms or uses an animal for its production.

Why Do People Eat a Vegan Diet?

why people eat vegan

There are many reasons why people decide to eat a vegan diet. These reasons can be:

  • Personal
  • Medical
  • Environmental
  • Religious

Most often, vegans opt to avoid products that are not vegan due to moral reasons regarding animal welfare.

Vegans who choose to abstain from animal products for animal rights avoid consuming and harming animals.

They believe that by abstaining from meat, they can cause less harm to animals.

Religion

because of religion

Some practice veganism due to religious or spiritual reasons.

Certain religions call for their followers not to eat animal products, including meat and dairy.

⚡ You May Also Like:  What Pasta Goes With Pesto? 8 Substitutes!

Vegan diets are prominent in Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism. Many Buddhists, for example, follow a lacto-vegetarian diet.

Environment

Some vegans avoid consuming meat or meat by-products because of environmental reasons.

According to studies, animal agriculture has been heavily impacting greenhouse gas emissions.

Greenhouse gas emissions lead to climate change and planet warming.

Therefore, vegans hope to disrupt and abstain from the meatpacking industry by eating less meat. 

Health

because of health

Others still eat a vegan diet for health reasons. A vegan diet can improve many health conditions like heart disease or obesity.

Meat and dairy are food items that can be hard on the body when not eaten in moderation.

Also, some find their diet is healthier when they abstain from them altogether.

Health Benefits of Eating Vegan

As discussed, some people opt for a vegan lifestyle for the health benefits.

That begs the question, is eating vegan healthier for you? The answer is yes, to a certain extent.

Studies show that vegans have overall healthier hearts and a lower chance of certain diseases.

People who do not eat meat have a lower chance of being obese or suffering from heart disease or high blood pressure. 

They are also less likely to have high cholesterol or cancer.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Can You Make Pasta Roni Without Milk? Everything You Need to Know

Need for Supplements

need to take supplements

That might sound like a very convincing reason to become vegan for health reasons.

However, vegan diets are missing some key components that humans need to survive.

Because of this, people who maintain a vegan lifestyle often need to overcompensate and get their vitamins and minerals elsewhere.

Vegan diets can be deficient in these important nutrients:

  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D
  • Iodine
  • Zinc
  • Selenium

So, while there can be some health benefits related to eating vegan, there are some risks involved if you do not monitor your vitamin and nutrient intake.

Note: Having a vegan diet is still possible to accomplish with a balanced diet and taking vitamins with necessary nutrients.

What Kind of Pasta Can Vegans Eat?

kind of pasta vegan can eat

There are some meals that vegans must avoid due to their ingredients.

This is because there are many food items that vegans can’t eat. But is pasta one of them?

Typically, the answer is no. But it depends on how the pasta is made.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Does Jello Have Pork In It? - Things You Must Know!

Often, homemade pasta includes eggs. However, most pre-packaged pasta is vegan.

Essentially, the answer to the question of whether pasta is vegan largely depends on the ingredients used in making the pasta.

Keeping Things Shelf-Stable

Some kinds of pasta, such as egg noodles, are almost always made with eggs, which vegans should avoid.

things shelf table

However, more shelf-stable pasta that is often found in stores avoids using eggs in the recipe.

This pasta will be vegan.

Bread and pasta products are most often made with shelf-stable ingredients to ensure that they last long enough on shelves and do not spoil.

Tip: When you go to a restaurant, it is always a good idea to check if their pasta is vegan, as restaurants are more likely to cook their pasta from scratch.

Is Whole Wheat Pasta Vegan?

Of course, all wheat is vegan. Just as how regular pasta is vegan, most whole wheat pasta is vegan, as well.

⚡ You May Also Like:  How To Keep Pasta Warm for a Pasta Bar? 3 Easy Steps!

However, you may need to check the ingredients to make sure that the whole wheat pasta you have purchased is vegan.

wheat pasta vegan

To know that the pasta you are consuming is vegan, you will need to carefully inspect the label to ensure the ingredients are vegan-safe.

But before doing so, you will first need to know what food is and is not vegan.

Here is a list of the food you should watch for when checking the label on your pasta box.

What Food Is Considered Vegan?

Vegan food is anything that is not derived from animals.

This includes:

  • Vegetables and Fruit
  • Legumes: peas, lentils, and beans
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Rice and grains
  • Bread and pasta that does not include dairy products
  • Meat and milk alternatives

What Food Is Not Considered Vegan?

food not vegan

Any food that is derived from animals is not considered to be vegan.

This includes:

  • Meat: Beef, pork, lamb, chicken, duck, and other red meat and poultry
  • Fish: any fish, shellfish, crabs, clams, and mussels
  • Dairy products: butter, cheese, milk, ice cream, cream
  • Eggs
  • Mayonnaise (because mayonnaise includes egg yolks)
  • Honey (because bees produce it)
⚡ You May Also Like:  Does Pasta Cause Bloating? How To Avoid It?

Some food, such as meat, is considered by all vegans to not be an acceptable vegan food.

However, there are some discrepancies between vegans regarding what foods are deemed vegan.

Note: Not all vegans abstain from the same foods. For example, some eat honey, while others do not. If you are hosting a vegan guest, you can ask them their preference.

What Are the Different Kinds of Vegans?

kinds of vegan

As we have noted before, not all vegans eat the same diet or have the same restriction.

Here are a few common types of vegan:

  • Dietary vegans
  • Whole-food vegans
  • “Junk-food” vegans
  • Raw-food vegans
  • Low fat raw-food vegans (also known as fruitarians)
If you are considering a vegan diet or cooking for someone who eats vegan, you will need to determine what that diet entails.

Final Words

Time for our final opinion. Is whole wheat pasta vegan?

As you know by now, our answer is yes, mostly. Most pasta sold in stores is vegan, but some homemade pasta or specialty may not be.

⚡ You May Also Like:  Do Pop Tarts Have Gelatin? - Are They Vegan?

You should always check the ingredients to ensure that the pasta does not include animal by-products.

Having a vegan diet has several positive health impacts and is better for the environment than eating meat for every meal.

However, if you have been considering going vegan, don’t worry, because you won’t have to give up pasta.